Demystifying Website Terminology: A Comprehensive Guide

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20 May, 2024

website-terminology-guide

The language of web design can be understood when you get yourself acquainted with many design terms. As a business owner, you understand the importance of making a lasting impression, and your website serves as your digital storefront. But in the world of web design, there's a whole glossary of terminology that can sometimes feel like a foreign language.

Whether you're considering a website redesign, planning to launch a new online venture, or simply aiming to better understand the nuts and bolts of your existing website, this blog is tailored to you.

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Basic Anatomy Of A Website

The anatomy of a website is an important consideration. It is imperative to have a strong foundation to develop a good website. A solid foundation means understanding your audience and competitors before making a website. Certainly, you can start by creating a wireframe for your website. Your website design style, color palettes, typography, and every other small thing should align with your brand story that you want your audience to remember about you.

Let's discuss the primary components of a website's anatomy:

1. Schemas: A website’s Foundation

The schema is the first part of a website's anatomy. Schemas serve as the foundation for a website, outlining the arrangement and structure of the material. Schemas serve as a road map for the user, helping them to understand what is essential, navigate the website, and use the content they seek.

2. Structural Markup Of The Website

Structural markup is the language used to connect the parts of a website and make them work together. It includes HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, which are used to design the front end of the website i.e., to structure and design the visual elements that users interact with. HTML is used to structure material, CSS is used to style the website, and JavaScript is used to add user interactivity.

3. Making a dynamic website: Components & scripting

Components and scripts make a website dynamic allowing the user to interact with the content and create a personalized experience. It includes interactive elements such as forms, buttons, and menus and scripting languages such as PHP and AJAX that make the function and feature dynamic.

4. The Web Browser: The bridge between the user and the front end of the Website

The web browser acts as an intermediary between the user and the website. It is the medium through which the user interacts with the website and how it is displayed to the end user. Because different browsers support different technologies, the website must be optimized for the most common browsers.

5. Content: Heart of the Website

Content is the heart of any website. It is the information displayed to the user and the primary emphasis of the website. The content of the website can be in any multimedia form. It can be plain text, images, videos, etc. It is critical to ensure that the content is written, arranged, and formatted so the audience can easily understand it. 

6. Information Architecture

The organization and structure of a website's content are defined by information architecture. It is the method by which the user finds information and navigates the website.

A well-designed information architecture makes it simple for users to find what they want and comprehend the website's purpose.

7. Visual & Web Design

Visuals and web design are the cornerstones to bring the website alive. This comprises the layout of the pages and the colors, fonts, and graphics. Visual and online design provides the user with an engaging and simple experience. The anatomy of a website conjoins the intricate parts that make up the user journey, the backbone of the web, and the framework that keeps it all together.

Why Should You know Important Website Terms

Marketers should know important website terms to bridge the gap between their strategic goals and technical execution. A solid grasp of web terminology facilitates effective communication with developers and designers, ensuring that marketing objectives are accurately translated into website features. It enables marketers to tailor content and user experiences to maximize engagement and conversions. 

Additionally, understanding terms related to SEO and analytics empowers marketers to make data-driven decisions and optimize their online presence. In an increasingly digital landscape, this knowledge is instrumental in crafting successful marketing campaigns and maintaining a competitive edge in the online marketplace.

Let’s start with the website terminologies in alphabetical order so that you can keep track of them easily.

1. A/B Testing

A/B testing is a process of comparing two variations of a single variable to check which of the two performs better in order to help improve your marketing efforts. This is common in email marketing (variations in the subject line or copy), calls-to-action (variations in colors or words, i.e. putting them together in a different and unique format), and landing pages (variations in content). 

Not sure what color CTA will drive more customers to your website? What variation of color and copy will lead them to close the sales? A/B test it.  

2. Analytics

Today in this age of data-driven marketing businesses want to earn more and more profits, and it couldn't be possible without leveraging data. Analytics is essentially a platform that collects data from your websites and apps to give you insights about your business. With the data, you can produce actionable insights into your business and make informed decisions.

After Analytics processes the data, it is saved in a database and cannot be modified later. So, while configuring your settings, don't exclude any data that you believe you might wish to examine later. Once the data has been processed and stored in the database, it will display as reports in Analytics.

3. Application Programming Interface (API)

Another important web design terminology is API. APIs enable your product and services to communicate with other products and services without any knowledge of how they interact and work. It allows other applications to extract information from other websites and use it on their own or in data analysis. APIs give you flexibility and provide new opportunities for innovation while you are designing new tools or products.

APIs are sometimes regarded as contracts, with documentation representing a mutual agreement between parties: If party 1 sends a remote request in a specific format, party 2's program will answer in the same manner.

4. Business Blogging

Business blogging contains similar attributes to "normal" blogging while adding a charm of marketing strategy on top. It assists marketers in driving traffic to their website, converting that traffic into leads, establishing authority on business topics related to your domain, and driving long-term results. Blogging helps your business convert prospective customers into buying customers and eventually loyal ones. Today, marketers should develop content that is keyword optimized and is in sync with the user’s intent to add insightful additions to their present knowledge. Typically, these blogs should be actionable (by offering an opt-in, downloadable offer) so that the effectiveness of blogging can be measured.

5. Bottom Of The Funnel

This is the final and favourite part of any business as people take that extra step and purchase from you. The bottom of the funnel is the point of a buyer’s journey when they finally decide to buy from you. But it isn’t that easy, This final piece of the funnel is preceded by the awareness and consideration phase where the audience researches about your product, it could be anything, price, pain points, downloading e-books etc. 

To put it in a better way, it is your conversion optimization time in terms of your content marketing efforts. If your audience has created harmony with your product where they feel that your product is going to solve their pain point then you have earned it.

6. Bounce Rate

 The percentage of visitors who arrive at a page on your website and then leave without clicking anywhere else or navigating to any other pages on your site. A high bounce rate usually results in a low conversion rate because no one stays on your site long enough to read your content or convert on a landing page (or any other conversion event).

Email bounce rate: The percentage of emails that were unable to be delivered to a recipient's inbox. A high bounce rate usually indicates that your lists are out-of-date or purchased, or that they contain a large number of incorrect email addresses. Because not all bounces in emails are harmful, it's critical to discern between hard and soft bounces before deleting an email.

7. Buyer Persona

A semi-fictional detailed description of someone whom you consider your target audience. This is based on the deep research that you do to understand your target audience. It is impossible to connect with every prospective customer individually but you can create a buyer persona that represents your customer base. 

You can give this buyer persona a name, interests, demographic details, behavioural traits, and psychographic details to understand their goals, buying patterns and pain points and how they go through the buying process.

8. Call-To-Action

A call-to-action is any text link, button, image, or web link that encourages a website visitor to visit a landing page and become a lead." CTAs include "Subscribe Now" and "Download Now." These are crucial for marketers since they serve as the "bait" that entices a website visitor to become a lead. As a result, you can realize how crucial it is to present a very attractive, value offer on a call-to-action to improve visitor-to-lead conversion.

9. Churn rate

Churn rate is a metric that determines how many customers you keep and at what cost." To determine the churn rate, divide the number of customers lost within a given time period by the total number of customers you had at the start of that time period. (Exclude any new sales from that time period.)For example, if a company had 500 clients at the start of October and only 450 at the end of October (excluding any customers that were closed in October), its customer turnover rate would be (500-450)/500 = 50/500 = 10%. 

You are supposedly in trouble if your average customer doesn't stick around long enough to at least make a break-even for your monthly revenue.

10. Clickthrough Rate (CTR)

A percentage showing how many people saw your ad or free product listing and ended up clicking on it. The clickthrough rate (CTR) can be used to determine the effectiveness of your keywords, advertising, and free listings.

CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks that you receive on your ad by impression (Number of times the ads are shown): clicks/impressions = CTR. For instance, if you received 10 clicks and 100 impressions, your CTR is 10%.

Each of your advertising, listings, and keywords has its own CTR, which is displayed in your account.

A high CTR means that people find your ads and listings to be worth considering and relevant. CTR also contributes to your keyword expected CTR, which is a component of Ad Rank. A good clickthrough rate (CTR) means know you have a prior knowledge about the platforms that would work in your case and understand how an ad rank is calculated.

CTR can help you determine which advertising, listings, and keywords are working for you and which need to be tweaked. The more closely your keywords, advertising, and listings relate to one another and to your business, the more probable it is that a user will click on your ad or listing after looking for your keyword phrase.

11. Content

In context of inbound marketing, Content is a piece of information that exists to be digested (not literally), engaged with, and shared. Although there are many other sorts of content, the most common include blogs, videos, social networking posts, photos, slideshows, and podcasts. Content is essential in a successful inbound marketing strategy, from website traffic to lead conversion to customer marketing.

12. Content Management System

WordPress Dashboard

A Content Management System is a web application that allows non-technical individuals to easily create, edit, and manage websites. It assists users with content creation, content storage, workflows, publishing, and optimization. 

  • Content Creation: Allows to create and format content easily
  • Content Storage: Stores content at one place in a consistent manner
  • Workflows: Assigns permissions to different individuals based on their roles such as editors, admins, authors, etc. 
  • Publishing: Tells the software when and where the content should go live.
  • Optimization: improves your digital experience

13. Conversion Rate

The percentage of visitors to your website that complete the targeted goal out of the total number of visitors is referred to as your conversion rate. A high conversion rate indicates effective marketing and web design: It signifies that people want what you're selling and can simply obtain it!

Raising your conversion rate means that more of your website traffic converts to meaningful actions that help your business expand, such as filling out a form to become a lead (for example, seeking a repair service quote) or making a purchase.

14. Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)

The process of increasing your site's conversion rate through the use of design techniques, key optimization principles, and testing. It entails giving your website visitors an experience that will turn them into buyers. CRO is most commonly used to optimize web pages, Landing pages, CTA's, etc. for a higher conversion rate. Its primary purpose is to give users a unique experience so that they spend more time on their web pages to finally close the conversion.

15. Cost-Per-Lead (CPL)

The Cost Per Lead (CPL) metrics determine how cost-effective your marketing activities are at creating new leads for your sales team. A lead is an entity who has shown interest in your product or service by showing their interest through adding products in cart, or subscribing to your newsletter or ebooks. This metric helps your team to understand how much tangible money should they spend to get the sales qualified leads. 

Consider your company spends $500 on the pay-per-click campaign and 10 users convert to leads.

Then Cost per lead: $500/10= $50

This amount might be termed as high or low depending upon your business. It has a different value for a business selling real-estate properties than a grocery store. This way you get to know that you need to adjust your pay-per-click campaign accordingly.

16. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

Consumer Acquisition Cost is the total cost a business spend on its sales and marketing efforts  to acquire new customers. CAC is an important corporate growth metric for determining customer profitability and sales efficiency.

If your business strategy is successful, your CAC will be lower than your LTV. Don't be alarmed if your CAC is currently higher than your LTV. CAC is a seesaw that will have ups and downs. You can get your SaaS business on the correct side of the seesaw with the information and steps we're about to teach you. 

17. Customer Relationship Management (CRM)

A collection of software packages that allow businesses to keep track of everything they do with existing and new consumers. 

CRM software, at its most basic, allows you to maintain track of all contact information for these customers. CRM systems, on the other hand, may manage email, phone calls, faxes, and sales; send tailored emails; schedule appointments; and track every instance of customer service and assistance. Some systems additionally include social media feeds from sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and others.

18. CSS

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheets. It is a style sheet language responsible for the making your website's design presentable. It handles the look and feel of your website. CSS is used to control the text colour, font styles, spacing between paragraphs, how colums are sized and laid out, background images and colour, how the image will look on different screen sizes. Overall, CSS is used to provide additional control over presentation of the HTML document.

19. Engagement rate

Engagement rates are metrics that measure how powerful is your content that drive customers to your website. Consumers who are engaged interact with brands through "likes," comments, and social sharing.

The engagement rate is a metric that often tells how effective is your brand campaign bringing traffic to your website People who connect with videos, updates, and blogs are more likely to become paying clients. Subset assessments of engagement rates such as "sharing metrics" illustrate the influence of your word-of-mouth marketing.

There is an ongoing debate about ROI in digital and performance marketing. Companies can measure social media performance by measuring engagement with the correct social tool. Engagement online results in:

  • Increased visibility
  • Brand loyalty
  • Word-of-mouth marketing and referrals
  • Credibility
  • Improved customer relationships

Engagement indicates whether your marketing efforts are reaching advocates, influencers, and your target audience. Engaging campaigns generate advocates who are more inclined to spread positive messages about your company and convert prospective customers into loyal customers.

20. Facebook

Facebook is a social network you're probably already familiar with, but it's evolved into so much more than just a platform for publishing content and gaining followers. You can now use Facebook advertising's awesome targeting possibilities to identify and attract new contacts and customers to your website and get them to convert on your landing pages... but remember, you still need awesome content to fulfil it.

Facebook is the pioneer of social media, the first one to be started which created a revolution in social media. It is an important part of your social media strategy but with time we have seen the rise of other influential social media rise such as Instagram, Snapchat, etc. Concentrating just on Facebook (or any other huge social platform) will only give you a little slice of the inbound marketing pie. And it's still really hot, so take care.

21. Forms

The location where your page visitors submit their information in exchange for your offer. It is also how those visitors can be converted into valuable sales leads. As a best practice, only ask your leads for the information you need to effectively follow up with and/or qualify them.

22. Hashtag

Hashtags are words and numbers that appear after the # symbol and are used to label and monitor content on social media. Major social media sites, including Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, and Pinterest, allow you to add hashtags to social posts, profiles, and comments.

Hashtags influence how well social media material performs overall.  Unique brands that have already created a niche in the market employ hashtags to make their product reach a wider audience or leverage hashtag analytics.

Unfortunately, the ambiguity around hashtags stops some marketers from utilizing them completely. This is exacerbated further by experts who deny the value of hashtags or reject them as irrelevant.

23. HTML

HTML is a short form for HyperText Markup Language, a programming language used to create web pages. It lies at the heart of every web page, regardless of the site's complexity or the number of technologies used, and provides the basic structure of the site, which is subsequently expanded and updated by other technologies such as CSS and JavaScript.

HTML development can be thought of as the bones of a webpage, while CSS gives the skin and JavaScript provides the brains. A web page can include headings, paragraphs, photos, videos, and a variety of other data kinds. The HTML element is used by front-end developers to identify what type of information each item on a webpage includes — for example, the "p" HTML element denotes a paragraph. Developers use HTML language code to specify how different items relate to one another in the page’s overall structure.

24. Inbound Marketing

Inbound marketing is basically a pull lever that refers to marketing operations that bring visitors in, rather than marketers having to go out and find prospects. Inbound marketing captures clients' attention, makes it easy for the target audience to find your website online, and inspires and moves the audience by sharing clear, concise and compelling content. By aligning your content with the interests of your customers, you attract inbound traffic that you can then convert, close, and make your brand evangelists. 

25. Inbound links

Inbound links are links from other websites that links to your website. They are also known as backlinks because they point back to your website. 

A link must be clickable for search engines to consider it an inbound link. An inbound link is made up of two parts: 

  • The URL to your website
  • It is attached to the anchor text

26. Infographics

An infographic is a visual representation of any given topic that includes imagery, and data visualizations such as bar graphs, pie charts, and tables with minimal content.

Infographics are a great visual communication tool. The most aesthetically interesting and imaginative infographics are frequently the most effective because they capture and hold your attention.

However, keep in mind that the visuals in an infographic must do more than just thrill and engage.

27. Instagram

Though Instagram was initially a haven for younger generations eager to publish, edit, and share unique-looking photographs, it has developed into a premium social network that is a realistic possibility for content marketers. Businesses mostly into D2C and B2C use this platform to keep their brand alive and moving by sharing images on this platform. 

28. JavaScript

JavaScript is a scripting language that allows you to dynamically update information, manipulate multimedia, animate graphics, and do a lot more.

Javascript is the most used programming language, making it a great choice for developers. With Javascript, you can create great front-end and back-end applications by utilizing several Javascript-based frameworks such as jQuery, Node.JS, and others.

Javascript allows you to create stunningly beautiful websites that are super-fast. You can create a website with a console-like appearance and feel to provide your users with the finest Graphical User Experience.

JavaScript is currently being used in the development of mobile apps, desktop apps, and games. This provides numerous options for you as a Javascript Programmer.

29. Key Performance Indicator (KPI)

A type of performance measurement used by businesses to assess the success of an employee or an activity. Marketers use KPIs to assess progress toward marketing objectives, and successful marketers continuously compare their performance to industry standard indicators. CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost), blog traffic sources, and homepage views are all examples of KPIs. Choose KPIs that reflect the performance of your marketing and business.

30. Keywords

Keywords, sometimes known as "keyword phrases," are the topics for which webpages are indexed in search results by engines such as Google, Yahoo, and Bing.

Choosing keywords for which to optimize a webpage is a two-step process. First, make sure the keyword has a high search volume and is not too difficult to rank for. Then, make sure it's appropriate for your intended audience.

After determining the keywords you want to rank for, you must optimize the relevant pages on your website using both on-page and off-page strategies.

31. Landing Page

A landing page is a separate web page that is designed expressly for a marketing or advertising campaign. Landing page is created to tell your audience about your new product, services, events etc. Your target audience clicks on the link in the email or an ad on any social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or any other website where thay can see your ads.

Unlike web pages, which often have multiple aims and promote research, landing pages have a single emphasis or goal known as a call to action (or CTA).

Because of this focus, landing pages are the ideal option for raising the conversion rates of your marketing initiatives and minimizing the cost of generating a lead or sale.

32. Lead

A person or organization that has expressed an interest in a product or service in some way, shape, or form. A customer may have filled out a form, subscribed to a blog, or supplied their contact information in return for subscribing to your blogs, newsletter, or ebooks. 

Lead generation is an important step in a prospect's route to becoming a customer, and it sits between the second and third stages of the wider inbound marketing process.

Stages of Lead generation

33. Lead Nurturing

Sometimes referred to as "drip marketing," lead nurturing is the practice of creating a series of communications (emails, social media messages, etc.) that aim to qualify a lead, keep it engaged, and gradually push it down the sales funnel." Inbound marketing is all about delivering excellent content to the correct audience, and lead nurturing facilitates this by providing contextually relevant information to a lead at various stages of the purchasing lifecycle.

34. LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a professional social networking platform. It was founded in May 2003 and is mostly used for professional networking. LinkedIn is now the most popular social network for professionals and one of the top social networks overall, with over 414 million registered members. Getting on the site, creating a thorough profile, and networking have all assisted numerous job seekers in finding work.

35. Lifecycle Stages

These life cycle stages serve to explain your interaction with your audience and mainly comprise three stages: Awareness (ToFU), Consideration(MoFU), and decision (BoFU).

What's vital to remember about each of these stages is that every stage can't have the same type of content. The content topic would differ in the awareness, consideration and decision-making stage. For example, you can't be salesy in your Awareness stage but you can be a little assertive in your decision-making stage. That's why dynamic content is so useful: you can serve up stuff that's appropriate for the stage of the visitor.

36. Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

Customer lifetime value (CLV) measures how much income a company can expect from a typical customer for as long as that person or account stays a customer.

When calculating CLV, consider the total average revenue generated by a customer and the total average profit.  Both metrics provide valuable information about the the user interacts with your company and how well your marketing strategy is aligned with your goals and objectives.

You may want to break down your company's CLV by quartile or other consumer segmentation for a more in-depth look. This can provide much better insights into what works with high-value clients, allowing you to replicate the success with the whole customer base.

37. Long-tail keywords

Long-tail keywords are more specific keyword phrases that visitors are more likely to use when they are close to making a purchase. Most long-tail keywords have lower search volume and are less competitive than short-tail keywords. They look to be counter-intuitive at first, but when used appropriately, they can be highly beneficial.

Managing long-tail keywords is just a matter of improving communication between your business and the clients who are already out there looking for what you have to offer.

Obviously, you are going to get less traffic from a long-tail keyword than from a more common one, but the traffic that you get is mostly from the customers who are at the bottom of the funnel, more focused, more devoted, and more interested in your product or services.

38. Microsite

A microsite is a website that promotes the products, services, campaigns, events, or complete brand of a firm. A microsite can be many different things; they are small websites or single web pages that utilize a distinct domain or subdomain to distinguish themselves from the company's main website. Finally, a microsite functions as a separate website for a single company, but it may express a distinct message that differs from the company's main website.

39. Middle of the Funnel

The middle-of-the-funnel (MoFU) stage is in between ToFU and BoFU. In this marketing funnel, potential clients are aware of your brand and have expressed an interest in what you have to offer at this point; otherwise, they would not have reached this stage. However, they are most likely not yet ready to make a purchase. The majority of prospects will be weighing their alternatives and seeking further information to assist them in making an informed decision.

40. Mobile Marketing

Any promotional activities that happens through mobile devices such as tablets and smartphones is referred to as mobile marketing. It uses modern mobile technology characteristics, such as location services, to customise marketing campaigns based on an individual's location.

Mobile marketing can involve promotions provided via SMS text messaging, MMS multimedia messaging, downloaded apps with push notifications, in-app or in-game marketing, mobile websites, or scanning QR codes with a mobile device.

and mobile marketing has become an essential tool for businesses of all sizes as mobile devices have become more common these days, The brands (and the corporations they represent through advertising) and service providers that enable mobile advertising are the primary stakeholders in the space.

41. Mobile Optimization

Designing and formatting your website so that it is easy to read and navigate from a mobile device is known as mobile optimization. This can be accomplished by developing a separate mobile website or adding a responsive design to the main site layout. Google's algorithm now favors mobile-friendly websites, so if your site isn't properly optimized for mobile devices, your rating on mobile searches will certainly suffer. 

42. Native Advertising

A type of online advertising that takes on the appearance and function of the platform on which it appears. Its goal is to make advertisements feel less like advertisements and more like a part of the discussion. That is, it is usually a piece of sponsored content that is relevant to the customer experience, isn't intrusive and looks and feels like it belongs in the same editorial environment.

Native advertising can take numerous forms, such as radio presenters praising a product sponsoring the show or an article on a product or company appearing in your news source.

43. Net Promoter Score (NPS)

A customer satisfaction metric that assesses, on a scale of 0 to 10, how likely people are to recommend your company to others. The NPS is calculated using a simple poll meant to measure how loyal your customers are to your company.

Divide the number of customers who would not recommend you (detractors, or 0-6) by the number of customers who would (promoters, or 9-10) to calculate the NPS.Regularly assessing your company's NPS allows you to uncover methods to improve your products and services in order to increase client loyalty.

44. No-follow Link

A no-follow link is used when a website does not want another webpage to pass search engine authority to it." It instructs search engine crawlers not to follow or credit connected websites in order to prevent being associated with spammy material or unwittingly breaking webmaster standards. All major search engines, including Google, Yahoo, and Bing, recognize the no-follow property to differing degrees. Not all links (and linking domains) are created equal, and a no-follow attribute aids in avoiding any unethical behavior.

45. On-Page Optimization

On-page optimization refers to all measures carried out by SEO professionals within a website to increase a site's ranking in search engine result pages. These metrics are related to all the happenings on the page's content and HTML source code, such as keyword density, keyword title, meta tags, meta description Alt tags etc. As a result, on-page SEO optimization criteria are linked to website elements.

So, in on-page SEO, you address all of the SEO criteria over which you have influence. A website owner, for example, has authority over technological issues, meta tags, and the content quality of the site. Because you have influence over on-page SEO issues, they should be rectified as quickly as possible to improve rankings on search engine result pages.

46. Off-Page Optimization

Off-page optimization encompasses all actions that can be carried out outside of the website to boost its ranking on search engine result pages. It does not deal with the optimization of your site or content, unlike on-page SEO. As a result, the website owner has no direct influence over off-page optimization parameters.

Off-page optimization is as important as On-Page optimization. Without applying off-page factors, your website site may not rank as high as it could be. Off-page SEO factors such as link building, social media, Newsletters, ebooks, videos, blogging, and so on are critical for your website's SEO. It helps you get more clicks, more visits, and more visibility, awareness and traffic on social media.  As a result, it is a process that takes time and mostly focuses on obtaining backlinks to your web pages from social networking, authoritative sites, and social bookmarking.

47. Pay-per Click (PPC)

What is PPC ads

PPC is an abbreviation for pay-per-click, a digital advertising approach where an advertiser pays a fee each time one of their ads is clicked. In essence, you are paying for targeted traffic to your website (or landing page or app). PPC ads are worthwhile when the cost per lead or conversion is less than the value of the product. For example, if you pay $3 for a click that leads to a $300 transaction, then you've made a good profit but running a $5 ad for a $8 product doesn't seem feasible.

PPC ads come in various kinds and sizes (literally) and can contain text, graphics, videos, or a combination of the three. They can be found online on different search engines like Google and Bing, Social media platforms or websites approved by Google.

48. Product Matrix

A product matrix is a chart that allows for quick product comparisons. You can easily compare features, prices, market segments, and other factors with the help of a product matrix. The concept appears simple (and it is), but it contains a good amount of information. 

The product matrix can be used to determine where there are opportunities for product development within a line. You may discover that building an upgraded version of an existing product is more advantageous than establishing a totally new product. Alternatively, you may discover a category with very few products that could introduce your brand to a new market niche. 

49. Qualified Leads

A qualified lead is a possible customer in the future who meets certain predefined criteria of your company's needs. Only willing leads are considered to be qualified leads, which means the information provided by the lead is given voluntarily on his own will. As a result, bought leads and databases do not qualify as qualified leads.

There are three methods for categorizing qualifying leads: 

Marketing Qualified Leads (MQLs) are leads who have met the minimum requirements to continue receiving marketing outreach.

Sales Qualified Leads (SQLs) are leads that have been pre-qualified for a sales outreach. 

Product Qualified Leads (PQLs) are leads who have gained significant value from your product through a free trial or a freemium model.

Each organization must establish its own criteria for marketing-driven MQLs, sales-driven SQLs, and product-driven PQLs.

50. Responsive Design

This is the process of creating a website that looks the same irrespective of the device. The website adjusts to the screen of any device on which it is viewed. Instead of creating a separate, distinct website for each specific device, it may be viewed on, the website is adjusted in such a way that the web pages render well on all screen sizes and resolutions ensuring good usability. 

51. Return On Investment (ROI)

A performance metric used to assess an investment's efficiency and profitability, or to compare the efficiency and profitability of multiple assets. ROI is calculated as (Gain from Investment minus Cost of Investment) divided by (Cost of Investment). The outcome is given as a percentage or ratio. If the ROI is negative, the endeavor costs the organization money. The computation can change depending on the gains and costs you enter.

Marketers today want to know the ROI of every approach and channel they employ. Many aspects of marketing have fairly simple ROI calculations (such as PPC), but others are more challenging.

52. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The practice of improving a webpage's ranking in search engine result pages is called Search Engine Optimization. An inbound marketer can optimize a webpage in search engine results by improving on-page SEO features and off-page SEO factors.

There are numerous factors to consider while optimizing the SEO of your site pages. A few features such as title tags, keywords, alt tags, meta tags, meta description, internal link structure, and inbound links are quite important and prove to be handy while optimizing your web page. Search engines also consider site structure and design, visitor behavior, and other off-site variables when determining how high your site should rank in search engine results pages.

53. Top Of The Funnel (ToFU)

Top-of-funnel marketing refers to potential buyers who are at the start of the buyer's journey, often known as the awareness stage. At this stage, they probably haven't heard about you or maybe have heard you in bits and pieces so probably you would want your audience to know more about you irrespective of the fact that they are not even considering you to buy your product.

Most businesses concentrate their PPC, Facebook Ads, and SEO efforts only on the bottom of the marketing funnel because those consumers convert the fastest. However, by developing top-of-funnel content, you may increase the ROI of all your other marketing platforms. This is what makes content marketing initiatives at the top of the funnel so effective.

What is Top-of-the Funnel

54. URL

A URL (Uniform Resource Locator) is a unique identifier used to relocate a resource over the internet.It is also referred to as a web address. URLs are composed of multiple components, including a protocol and a domain name, that tell a web browser how and where to look for a resource.

End users access URLs by typing them directly into a browser's address bar or by clicking a hyperlink discovered on a webpage, bookmark list, email, or another application.

The URL includes the name of the protocol used to access a resource and the name of the resource itself. 

55. User Interface

UI design, also known as user interface design, is the aesthetic visual design of a digital product's user interface, mainly the product's presentation and interactivity. UX design, usually referred to as user experience design, is at times mixed with UI design. While UI and UX designers collaborate closely, the two areas pertain to different aspects of the design process.

UX design is the practice of increasing the possibility of liking your website be it your design, navigation or product's usability and accessibility. 

UI designers are the architect of the product's look and feel on your website, from the start of using the typography to the color design.The goal of UI design is to anticipate the user's preferences and create an interface that both understands and meets them. UI design considers not only aesthetics but also the responsiveness, efficiency, and accessibility of a website.

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FAQs

1. What are the seven marketing concepts?

The seven concepts of marketing are product, price, promotion, people, process, and physical evidence.

2. Why is it necessary to know essential marketing terms?

It is critical for both seasoned and naive marketers to stay up to date on the latest marketing principles as the subject of marketing is continuously evolving.

3. What is the marketing mix?

The term marketing mix, popularized by Neil Borden, refers to the four basic pillars of marketing: product, price, place, and promotion. The four Ps of marketing are the fundamental categories that define marketing tactics for selling goods and services.

4. Define marketing strategy?

This is a general strategy to increase the consumer base for the brand's products or services. It specifies a brand's overall strategy for acquiring new customers and retaining existing ones.

5. What does a marketing plan mean?

A marketing plan is an outlined document that consists of effective marketing strategies and tactics with proper goals and objectives that the organisation is going to achieve in its fiscal year.

Wrapping Up With Website Terminology

Here you've encountered 55 Web design terminology and definitions in your journey of web design and development.

While you won't be expected to be an all-knowing encyclopedia while dealing with a digital firm, knowing the basics is a wonderful strategy to ensure smooth interactions and meet your goals.

At Janbask Digital Design, we take project ownership and treat each website project as if it were our own. However, we take care of your brand in every design and experience aspect to ensure that your digital experience embodies your brand.

Interested in our Web Design & Development Services?

  • Achieve Your Brand Vision
  • Drive Customer Engagement
  • Customize UI for Intuitive Digital Interactions
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Paul Wilson

Using plain, straightforward language to explain complex terms is crucial. This will make your content more approachable for those who are new to website development.

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Colin Rodriguez

This blog is a must-read for breaking down complex jargon and demystifying the web.

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Jax Williams

This blog is incredibly helpful! I’ve always been confused by these web terms, but your explanations are so clear. Thank you for demystifying them!

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Adonis Smith

This is a fantastic resource for web developers looking to explain concepts to their clients or team members.

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Paxton Harris

The community engagement in your blog’s comments section is a testament to its value.


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